Read what others have to say about Eye of the Moon.

Industry reviews
Advanced reader reviews

Want to share your experience with the novel? Write your own review and submit it using our online form. Your email address will not be published nor will it be used for email marketing. Reviews are moderated to exclude spoilers or offensive language.

Excellent, fantastic book!

February 15, 2018

I just finished reading ‘Eye of the Moon’. It was an excellent, fantastic book. I loved the way the characters were presented, I felt I really got to know each one of them and, mostly, I did understand their unique personalities. The book has mystery, joyful moments, very interesting passages, and the more I read, the more I was unable to put it down. I am so eager to get the sequel, so I can find out what happened to Percy, Bruni, Maw, Stanley, and the other individuals that were involved in love, adventures, past secrets they all shared, and decisions made that affected each one of them. I really think this was an excellent book indeed!

Silvia L


February 4, 2018

What an enjoyable read! It was like taking a mini-vacation to another world chock-full of interesting, vibrant characters, with mysterious plot twists and surprises. I can’t wait for a sequel!

Mary Ann

Great read!

February 1, 2018

“Eye of the Moon” is incredibly interesting from start to finish. It’s mysterious, mystical, intellectual, and the characters are all unique and intriguing. I would love to hear more of Percy and Johnny’s adventures!

Debbie McKenna

"Eye of the Moon": a Fascinating, Spellbinding and Charming thriller!

January 23, 2018

“Eye of the Moon” had me right from the start!! Each and every page is filled with suspense, twists and turns. Nothing is as it seems in the house of Rhinebeck.

Beth Putnam

"Eye of the Moon" had me from the start!

January 21, 2018

This novel, and the master character development, hooked me from the start. Johnny and Percy have a history you want to learn more about, and Rhinebeck is mysterious and magical. You will not be disappointed! “Eye of the Moon” is beautifully written, funny, touching and thoughtful. I am anxiously waiting for book 2!

Shannon Schroeder

Eye of the Moon revived my love for books!

January 12, 2018

While reading “Eye of the Moon” I felt completely transported to Rhinebeck. Through the descriptive imagery Ivan Obolensky used in his writing, I could taste the elegant dinners, I could feel the breeze outside the estate, and I could smell the pages of the books Percy and Johnny kept. It awoke in me a desire to read more and I consequently made my resolution this year to read one book per month- I want to make my way through Percy’s and Johnny’s collection! Thank you for this gift!

Emilia Smith

A highly entertaining journey!

January 8, 2018

Beautifully crafted descriptions take you to the heart of the world in itself that is Rhinebeck. I enjoyed it immensely and I can’t wait to be back, I already miss Percy and Johnny. The novel has a bit of everything: humor, intrigue, unexpected turns, romance, and the element of magic. A very joyous reading! You will not be disappointed and I’m sure you, like myself, will want another journey into the depths of Rhinebeck.

Julieta Mattera

Chapeau !

January 8, 2018

“Eye of the Moon” has it all… Facts and fiction. It takes you to experience an adventure full of mystery and magic – where all characters alive, or not, become your friends – I am looking forward to living a new adventure with a sequel. I so much want to know what happens next … Very well written. Chapeau !

Ann Duvoisin

A Spellbinding Journey!

January 5, 2018

I am not normally one to finish a book – I read scripts for a living and am a mom of 2 young children – but when I began reading “Eye of the Moon”, there was no stopping me! It was a wonderful escape. The characters so solid and intriguing, the location and relationships absolutely entrancing. I delighted in every page and am picking it up for a second read – I want to experience the magic all over again!! Hoping for more (perhaps a sequel?) from the author. Highly recommend!!

Vanessa Richardson

A Very Pleasant Surprise

January 4, 2018

I don’t finish half the books I start, especially those by new authors, but “Eye of the Moon” kept me engaged from start to finish. I read it in 3 days. The descriptions of Rhinebeck were so well written that I could picture myself there, immersed in high society at the dinner table or within the mansion and the surrounding, sometimes eerie, grounds. I hope a sequel is in the works.

Nancy M

Paranormal delight!

January 4, 2018

Just finished Ivan Obolensky’s “Eye of the Moon”! Filled with humor and unexpected twists and turns, I really enjoyed reading this paranormal romance!

Judy Rao

A Panoply of Literary Excellence

January 4, 2018

I was interested throughout this novel. The interactions between the characters and their development was intriguing. The settings in which this all took place were vivid in my imagination. I felt like I was there. I had trouble putting it down and that was a joy!

Denise Del Bianco

Intelligent, mysterious & exciting

January 3, 2018

I’m not sure where to start except to say – “Go Read It Now!!!!”
I characterize myself as hard to please or at the very least picky when reading novels. There are not many that I stick with. “Eye of the Moon” drew me in! It was exquisitely surprising in capturing me and holding me to the end. I can only speak with enthusiasm and love for the characters, the language, the formality of the characters’ lives, and of course Rhinebeck. Rhinebeck, described so well but not overcooked to snuff out the imagination. Old world charm and mystery with a support staff to fulfill its personality.

“Eye of the Moon” starts off simple enough with our two main characters and their slightly complicated relationship. Straightaway, we are given our push and pull to carry us through the ups, downs, twists and turns through the story at Rhinebeck, and all the characters that flush out the exciting and mysterious circumstances that come into play. Then there is the paranormal undercurrent to the estate itself. It’s like a hint of just the right spice to set the whole story in a precarious state of balance. Amazingly exciting tension, all while following our characters through their storyline.

I would love to go on and on about the book as I truly loved reading it, and there are very few books that I can claim to have loved reading.
I implore anyone reading this now to read “Eye of the Moon” immediately so we can discuss and enjoy.

Quinn Richardson

Wonderful Novel

January 3, 2018

“Eye of the Moon” is a well written, enjoyable gothic mystery filled with secrets, treasures, twists and turns, and the paranormal. The character development was excellent with Percy, Johnny, and Robert the Bruce, keeping me interested from the beginning of this ingenious tale, to the end. The descriptions throughout the novel are also well done, which adds great depth to this great story. Well done, Ivan Obolensky. I am looking forward to reading more of your novels.

Jeanne Prudhomme

Diving into a Magical, Privileged World

December 28, 2017

I’m one of those who stopped reading books years ago. Life took over and there was no time to jump to other worlds as I dealt with this one. I felt no guilt about that, since I had managed to enjoy some great books before life got too busy and other simple choices of entertainment took over.

On this year’s Christmas break, a window of free time opened up and my youngest sister gifted me a book called “Eye of the Moon”, written by her husband Ivan Obolensky.

I’m so glad she did. I committed myself knowing I had some free days, took a deep breath and opened the book.

Three days later, I shared an “Eye of the Moon Report”:

Chapter 70.
I’m running out of pages as events are continuing to climax.
I’m reading at such a fast pace, hoping to learn more but sadly always noticing that not many pages are left.
I decided to not finish the book last night so that I could enjoy the ending today, but I had stopped at a place where I could not stop tossing and turning in my bed. I had to get up and found a corner in the house, far away from all who were sleeping and ended at a place in the story where I could sleep knowing that I could let go of it for a while.
Today, Christmas Day, will be a day of knowing where all these characters I’ve met will continue their lives in this adventure that Ivan got us into.
Rhinebeck is also waking up for a new day today.

The next day, I shared my final report:
Chapter 80
The last chapter has been read.
The book is closed, the weekend at Rhinebeck is over, and I don’t want to let go of the sense of mystery and magic that permeates the story and all its intriguing characters.
I enjoyed the experience tremendously and look forward to the moment where the windows of opportunity will be open so that others can have access to the story and are able to join in on the magical ride that is spending that weekend in Rhinebeck.
Ivan’s muse did her job, and Ivan did his as well, very well.

I highly recommend “Eye of the Moon”.

Michael Smith

The magic of Rhinebeck charmed me

December 19, 2017

“Eye of the Moon” is so full of details that you can see the place and feel its magic, while you enjoy the mystery and the suspense of the plot, and the intelligent dialogs. Congratulations!

Laura Bissio

A truly magical story!

December 17, 2017

A compelling story, with an original plot full of mystery, colorful characters and unexpected twists and turns, that keeps the reader in suspense until the very end.

Hélène Laurendeau

Intriguing read

December 14, 2017

“Eye of the Moon” is very well written and the story is intriguing, often surprising and funny. It reminds me of some of the Wodehouse novels, with a lot of humor and unexpected developments. I enjoyed it.

Geert Criel


December 14, 2017

This story held me spellbound throughout. It starts with Johnny showing up at Percy’s place after years of no contact. The two friends embark on an unforgettable life-changing week to celebrate Johnny’s parents’ anniversary. It’s a friendship of a lifetime. I could not stop reading as I was entangled in the many twists and turns. Fun and unforgettable read.

Alanna Patterson

A real page-turner

December 12, 2017

True to the promise it makes, it’s a book that kept me reading well into the night. It’s incredibly suspenseful and full of great conversations and characters. I wish I could read it again for the first time – oh well, I guess I’ll just have to wait for the HBO series then…

Julian Santamaria

Spellbound by “Eye of the Moon”

December 11, 2017

“Eye of the Moon” is a beautifully woven web of mystery, romance, and drama with a spark of magic at every turn. I enjoyed reading it so much that I have already picked it back up! I could not wait to be back at Rhinebeck with my friends Percy and Johnny.

Cayetana Smith

"Eye of the Moon" delights

December 11, 2017

“Eye of the Moon” is a delightful suspenseful adventure into a world of aristocracy and mystery. Lively conversations, wonderful, diverse characters and vivid detailing gives one a feeling of being there. Overall this is an intelligent read that keeps you turning the pages.

Sandy Adams

"Eye of the Moon" blew me away

December 8, 2017

“Eye of the Moon” is so beautifully written, it was hard to put down. It was a treat to come home from work each day, and get lost in the world of beautiful people and intrigue. Well done, sir! A wholehearted 5 stars!

Art Watanabe